Deep Purple unveil new album =1

Deep Purple have a new album on the way, their first containing new material in four years.



Deep Purple will release their new album, '=1', in June
Deep Purple will release their new album, '=1', in June

Deep Purple have unveiled their new album, ‘=1’.

The legendary rock band are set to release the record on July 19, with the lead single arriving on April 30.

The seminal group - best known for rock staples ‘Hush’, ‘Black Night’, ‘Speed King’, ‘Fireball’ and ‘Smoke On The Water’ - released their 22nd studio album, 'Turning to Crime', in 2021, composed entirely of covers, it marked the last record to feature guitarist Steve Morse before he left the band in July 2022; Simon McBride takes his place on the upcoming record.

Ian Gillan and co's 21st studio LP, 'Whoosh!', reached number four on the Official UK Albums Chart and number one in several countries upon its release in 2020.

A press release notes how the new LP showcases the "essence and attitude of their 1970s incarnation possibly more than any other album in recent memory."

The group - completed by bassist Roger Glover, keyboardist Don Airey and drummer Ian Paice - have once again worked with studio wizard Bob Ezrin to continue evolving their classic sound.

As for the theme, the document teased: "The enigmatic title ‘=1’ symbolises the idea that in a world growing ever more complex, everything eventually simplifies down to a single, unified essence. Everything equals one."

The band has shared mysterious equations and depictions of multiverses in London, Paris and Berlin in recent days to tease the LP, with more context to follow.

The legendary rock band will also bring their '= 1 MORE TIME TOUR' to Birmingham, London, Leeds, Manchester, Glasgow, with support from indie rockers Reef, this November.

Pre-order the album now via

The '=1' tracklisting:

1. ‘Show Me’

2. ‘A Bit On The Side’

3. ‘Sharp Shooter’

4. ‘Portable Door’

5. ‘Old-Fangled Thing’

6. ‘If I Were You’

7. ‘Pictures Of You’

8. ‘I’m Saying Nothin’’

9. ‘Lazy Sod’

10. ‘Now You’re Talkin’’

11. ‘No Money To Burn’

12. ‘I’ll Catch You’

13. ‘Bleeding Obvious’