Travis announce 'personal' new album L.A. Times

'Sing' hitmakers Travis are back with their first new music in four years.



Travis have shared their new single, 'Gaslight', from the upcoming LP 'L.A. Times'
Travis have shared their new single, 'Gaslight', from the upcoming LP 'L.A. Times'

Scottish rockers Travis are set to return with their deeply personal album, 'L.A. Times'.

Fran Healy and co - who formed in 1990 - haven't put out a record since 2020's '10 Songs', and they are back today (21.03.24) with the lead single, 'Gaslight'.

The 50-year-old songwriter said of the upcoming LP, due out on July 12: “L.A. Times is our most personal album since The Man Who. There was a lot of big stuff to write about back then, the tectonic plates had shifted in my life. I was 22 when I was writing those songs. They were my therapy. Over 20 years later and the plates have shifted again. There’s a lot to talk about.”

'The Man Who' was released 25 years ago and was their breakthrough number one album.

Speaking of the 'Gaslight', the frontman said: "I read a few weeks ago that gaslighting was the most web searched word in the world. We are living in a time where our realities are being warped by bosses, leaders, friends, teachers and politicians. It really is everywhere. Gaslighters want to control you. They tell you things which undermine your confidence in yourself and make you question reality and it makes you feel like you’re going crazy.”

The 'Sing' hitmakers are set to tour with The Killers across their 16 date UK arena this June and July, with more UK and European dates to follow.

'L.A. Times' is available digitally, on CD and vinyl. The album is also available as a limited deluxe 2CD package which includes a stripped-back version of the L.A. Times album, recorded between Dougie Payne’s Living Room, Glasgow, and Fran Healy’s Living Room, L.A.

'L.A. Times' Tracklisting:

1 - 'Bus'

2 - 'Raze the Bar'

3 - 'Live It All Again'

4 - 'Gaslight'

5 - 'Alive'

6 - 'Home'

7 - 'I Hope That You Spontaneously Combust'

8 - 'Naked In New York City'

9 - 'The River'

10 - 'L.A. Times'